CD 8018344014487


01. Open Up Your Eyes
02. Livin’ My Life
03. So Long, Goodbye
04. Secret Lover
05. Greetings From Here
06. But Not For You
07. Someway Still I Do
08. Stay Into My Life
09. L’Estate è Qua
10. Suddenly...
11. Something Fine
12. Blind Date Blues

Someway Still I Do” marks the soloist debut of the guitarist, composer and producer Alessandro Magnanini.

For this work the Italian composer avails himself of some collaborations which further enhance the structure of the tunes. Among the voices Jenny B stands out singing with great personality both in “Secret Lover” and “Open Up Your Eyes”, which bring to mind the typical atmospheres of the music by John Williams or the more recent ones by Duffy or Amy Winehouse; we also find the singer performing sensually in “So Long Goodbye”, whose interpretation shows the typical delicacy of the bossa nova. The important international guest is Liam McKahey, frontman of the English band Cousteau, also stabbing at three songs: at the ballad “Livin My Life”, which brings us back to the traditional jazz splendours of the New Orleans of the ‘30s; at “But Not For You”, with its involving bossa jazz; and finally at “Someway Still I Do”, which excels for its contrasting shades upon the voice of the Australian singer make us daydreaming. “L’estate è Qua” instead gives us the new and rare opportunity to appreciate Rosalia De Souza singing in Italian in a piece that shows us the typical romanticism typical of her home country; “Something Fine”, is charmingly performed by Stefania Rava who worked for years by the side of valued Italian musicians such as Giorgio Gaslini,  Paolo Tomelleri and Giovanni Tommaso; “Stay Into My Life” is singed with great verve by Renata Tosi, already by the side of Nicola Stilo, Dusko Gojkovick and Tony Scott, and it is characterized for its uptempo structure suitable for the dancefloor.

Alessandro Magnanini – acoustic/electric guitar and background vocals
Pasquale Bardaro – vibraphone
Lorenzo Tucci – drums
Alessandro Lugli – drums on #01,04,07
Luca Florian, Oscar Abelli – percussion
Nicola Balestri – banjo
Stefania Rava, Renata Tosi, Alberto Carra – background vocals

Luca Mannutza – acoustic piano
Nicola Peruch – acoustic piano on #07
John Guerretti – fender rhodes
Fabrizio Bosso – trumpet & flugelhorn
Andrea Giuffredi – trumpet
Daniele Scannapieco – tenor saxophone
Giuseppe di Benedetto – trombone
Pietro Ciancaglini – double bass
Enrico Lazzarini – double bass on #07
Paolo Gialdi – electric bass