01. Intro/Promenade (On a Dotted Line)
02. Strong Place
03. Coincidenze
04. Thapsos        
05. Mercy Street
06. Buenos Aires 1952
07. Josephine

The album features the Afro-American rhythm section of Herbie Hancock, one of the most famous in the New Yorker jazz scene, consisting of the drummer Kendrick Scott and the bassist Vicent Archer.
The title of the album is an homage to Strong Place Cobble Hill, Brooklyn, where the pianist lived during the recording sessions of the album.
All the compositions were written and arranged by Antonio Figura except for “Josephine” which brings the signature of Luciano Figura, and produced by Freeform Jazz Production.

Antonio Figura: piano

Kendrick Scott: drums

Vincent Archer: double bass

The pianist and composer Antonio Figura was born in 1972 in Siracusa. During the Great War his grandparents emigrated in Argentina and at the end of the ’50 they came back in Sicily together with their sons, among whom Antonio’s mother, born in Buenos Aires.
Antonio raised in a family of musicians. His father, a professional Sicilian drummer, grew his sons in a home where music was considered a daily soundtrack: classic, jazz, blues, pop, Beatles, soundtracks...
During the adolescence he shared with his brothers the love for music and from that time on he never stopped dedicating to it.
At the age of six, not having the possibility of studying, the only way for him to start the comprehension of music of the great masters was through the records suggested by his father and friends, trying to play what he listened to.
After the Science high school he moved to Florence where he met some musicians of the Tuscan jazz scene whom he had the opportunity to play with and learn from.

Making use of master Stefano Battaglia’s teachings he studied piano and jazz harmony, and after a long period dedicated to the studying of the classics his music background was entirely consecrated to jazz and contemporary music.
At the University of Literature and Philosophy in Bologna he followed and passed a few exams such as music aesthetic and semiotic, history of the medieval and renaissance music and music education methods. He graduated with full marks and honours in “Jazz Disciplines and Afro-American Music History” in the Luigi Cherubini Conservatorium in Florence with a thesis on “Modern Jazz Quartet”.
In 2000, after he moved to Paris, he collaborated with the Parisian percussionist Pierre Moulias performing in Paris, Dublin and London. In the last three years he gave concerts and workshops in New York, San Diego,
St. Louis with the bassist Tom Kennedy and the Californian guitarist William Lenihan, the favourite of Ralph Towner, whom he recorded two albums with.
Between September 2003 and December 2006 he gave two seminars at the prestigious Washington University in St. Louis disserting: "The European concept in jazz improvisation".
Composer, arranger and all-round artist he played with Evan Parker, Soweto Kinch, Cleveland Watkiss and opened concerts of Roy Ayers and Ahmad Jamal.
Lyricism, virtuosity and freshness are all elements which mark out him as one of the best talented musicians of the new European contemporary jazz scene.
In 2008 he played at the London Jazz Festival with the vocalist Cleveland Watkiss and the saxophonist Soweto Kinch at the famous Ronnie Scott club.
In January 2009 he presented “A Concert for Solo Piano” at the Music Auditorium Park in Rome, gaining an extraordinary success.
In July he ended a recording in trio at the Two System Studio in Brooklyn, the famous recording studio where important artists such as Ahmad Jamal, Lee Konitz, Chick Corea, Robert Glasper, Hank Jones, Terence Blanchard, Herbie Hancock and many others recorded in turn.
The album “Strong Place” will come out in January 2010 on Schema Rearward, sister jazz label of the Schema Rercords, which has reissued great classics of Kenny Clarke, Francy Boland, Johnny Griffin, Sahib Shihab and many others.