1. Soul & Sunshine
2. Mr Hot Pants aka Across The Track
3. Let Me Come Within ft. Paris Ruel
4. Snake Oil
5. Lift It Up ft. Paris Ruel
6. I Need Your Love ft. Liz Swain
7. The Breaker
8. In The Doghouse
9. Lucky Old Sod
10. If I Had A Man Like You ft. Liz Swain
11. Makin Gravy
12. Mr Biscuits

The Jezebel Sextet play rare funk 45s, soul and boogaloo with a late 1960s sound and classic line up of Hammond organ, horns and vocals. 2012 sees the release of the band’s first full-length studio album Lift It Up, produced by Speedometer’s Leigh Gracie and self-released on Sookie Records in partnership with Soul Cookers.

From the first roll of the snare, this record aims to capture the energy of a live performance, full of super-tight arrangements, powerful horn lines, boiling guitar and swirling Hammond organ. It opens with two epic funk covers ‘Soul and Sunshine’ and ‘Mr Hot Pants’, which was previously released on Freestyle Records’ Fresh Out The Box FSRCD076 gaining plaudits from Blues and Soul and radio play on BBC 6music.

The sense of shared excitement is all over the 7 originals written by various members of the band. In 'Snake Oil' each player trades phrases vying for the limelight. Then comes 'Lift It Up', a new song that points in a different direction, blending Paris Ruel’s contemporary soul voice with uplifting horns. ‘Lucky Old Sod’ is a memento from the band’s first gig, reworked with the original horns and wah-wah breakdown.

The album ends with two more originals, the Maceo inspired groove of ‘Makin’ Gravy’, followed by the barnstorming Hammond and punchy horns of 'Mr Biscuits'. Vocal covers include a fat and filthy version of ‘Let Me Come Within’ with impressive falsetto from Paris Ruel, and Liz Swain’s take on the rare Blaxploitation soundtrack ‘I Need Your Love’.