gerardo frisina movement




01. Arrival
02. I Need Rhythm
03. Movement
04. The Talisman
05. Selvatico
06. The Sound Image
07. Eastern Vibrations/Shout it Out
08. Reporter
09. Communications
10. Moving Shadows
11. Mystic Latin
12. Whatʼs Jazz?

Gerardo Frisina has established himself throughout the years as one of thefinest interpreters of the Latin-influenced Jazz club sound. Four years after the release of “Join the Dance”, he returns on Schema with a brand new album, “Movement”.
Gerardoʼs contribution to the history of Italian Jazz is remarkable: along with his activity as a producer, his work has been pivotal in uncovering rare Italian and European Jazz for international audiences, thus reviving this rich heritage.
The studio is where he feels at home: his recent activity has been considerable, with a multitude of projects and single releases, and finally, a new album. Like a gifted movie director, he conducts with delicacy and mastery a fine ensemble of musicians, bringing into these recordings the outcome of
lifelong research into sound. His fifth full-length album summarizes his
experiences, his endless listening sessions and experiments with different
music cultures.
Here are 12 pieces describing another amazing journey through Gerardoʼs rich and exotic influences: these are the adventures of a European Jazz man immersed in Afro-Cuban inspirations. Gerardoʼs love for Cuban music is wellknown.
Jazz had been influenced by Cuban music since its early days and Gerardoʼs blend of this tradition has become a trademark. His fans will not be disappointed by “Movement” and the uninitiated will discover the manifold
nuances of his sound.
“Movement” though, contains a new musical perspective - a more Afro-Funk approach that we can feel on tracks like “The Talisman” or “Mystic Latin”, with hot drum breaks that will set fire to the dance floor. This could be how would Manu Dibango or Fela Kuti sound in 2014!
“What is Jazz?” is how fine Jazz house music should be: a classy dance piece with a charming vibraphone, beautiful flute improvisations over strong acoustic
“Eastern Vibration – Shout it Out” is a unique homage and tribute to the spiritual Jazz of the late 60s and early 70s. The only track featuring vocals, is a
medley of a theme by the saxophonist Charles Williams and an original composition.
Gerardoʼs music has the indisputable power of creating cinematic atmospheres
– a not-so unconscious inspiration, since his love for rare and exotic soundtrack is well-known. Take for instance “Reporter”, which resounds indeed with notes of an old TV opening theme on investigative reports, bringing to mind frenetic action. And action is what “Movement” commands to the mind: a sound that finds its
natural environment in small and warm clubs – intimate places where dancers release their energy and celebrate life.
“Movement” is a soundtrack of warm and summary vibes that will stay with us for a long time.